Turkey River Watershed Management Authority


What is the Turkey River WMA?

The Turkey River Watershed Management Authority (WMA) was formed in June 2012 and is a board of directors from twenty three cities, five counties, and seven soil and water conservation districts (SWCDs) in the Turkey River Watershed who have voluntarily agreed to work together in order to:

  • Assess and reduce the flood risks
  • Assess and improve water quality
  • Work with the Iowa Flood Center to model flood reduction strategies
  • Educate and engage residents of the watershed regarding flood risks and water quality
  • Develop a Turkey River Watershed Plan for flood reduction and water quality management
  • Help partners secure funding for projects

Next Meeting

  • March 21st, 2024

Meeting Minutes

Board of Directors

Chairperson: Rod Marlatt
Vice Chair: Bill Bennett
Treasurer/Secretary: Jennifer Cowsert

Political Subdivision Appointed Rep Alternative Rep Alternative Rep
City of Arlington Dustin Schott    
City of Calmar      
City of Clermont Jim Matt Bruce Lehmann  
City of Cresco Ron Hyberger Rod Freidhof  
City of Elgin Ron Hills    
City of Elkader Jennifer Cowsert Gerry Ommen  
City of Farmersburg Ron Dennler  Linda Sedlmayer  
City of Fayette Jon Biederman    
City of Fort Atkinson Paul Herold David Schneiter  
City of Garnavillo Elizabeth Jaster Chad Schroyer  
City of Hawkeye John Fels    
City of Lawler Jason Byrne    
City of Maynard Paul Hoeger    
City of Monona Barb Collins    
City of Postville Leigh Rekow Chris Hackman  
City of Spillville Renee Wagner    
City of St. Lucas Kerri Langreck    
City of St. Olaf Darwin Frana    
City of Strawberry Point Allison Osweiler  Wally Rowcliffe  
City of Volga Kristin Klingman  Pete Duff  
City of Wadena Eric Boehm    
City of Waucoma      
City of West Union Jon Biederman    
Chickasaw County Jason Byrne Rick Holthaus  
Clayton County Ray Peterson    
Fayette County Rod Marlatt    
Howard County Dean Eastman Joe Pisney  
Winneshiek County Mark Vick John Beard  
Allamakee County SWCD Jack Knight    
Chickasaw County SWCD Randy Boedker    
Clayton County SWCD Gerry Ommen Eric Palas  
Delaware County SWCD Steve Lueken    
Fayette County SWCD Bill Bennett    
Howard County SWCD Bart Wilson Harlan Hickle  
Winneshiek County SWCD John Lubke    

Founding Documents


Archive of Posts on the Turkey River WMA

Related Images: